The Board is the governing body of Awards WA Inc. (the Association) comprising of the Chair and Members and is responsible for the transparent, accountable governance of the Association and for policy making and setting strategic direction.


The Honourable Kim Beazley AC, Governor of Western Australia

The Honourable Kim Beazley AC is the 33rd Governor of Western Australia. Prior to be installed as Governor on the 1st May 2018, Mr Beazley had dedicated almost three decades to a career in Federal Parliament, representing the WA seats of Brand and Swan.

In 2009, Mr Beazley was awarded the Companion of the Order of Australia for service to the Parliament of Australia through contributions to the development of government policies in relation to defence and international relations, and as an advocate for Indigenous people, and to the community.

2021 Awards WA Inc. Board

Hon Joe Francis - Chairman

Joe joined the Royal Australian Navy as a Marine Technical Sailor, subsequently becoming commissioned as an Officer and served full time in submarines until 2008 when he was elected to the seat of Jandakot.  Holding the seat until 2017, Joe became a Cabinet Minister with portfolios of Emergency Services, Corrective Services, Small Business, Veterans and Fisheries.  Previously General Manager of Australian Transit Group, Joe is a member on the Administrative Appeals Tribunal and brings a wealth of knowledge to his role as Chairman.

Greg Stagbouer - Vice Chairman

Greg is Gold Award Holder and is passionate about youth development.  He has been involved with the State Award Board for many years as a Board Member, Chair and now Vice Chair.  Greg has been a national Board Member and currently on the National Risk Committee. He was also involved with the Australian Air Force Cadets for almost 25 years. Greg is an accomplished manager with 30 years’ experience in various roles, with the last 20 dedicated to safety and training. Greg is currently the Managing Director of Meridio Solutions a safety, risk and training organisation who assist their clients develop real safety practices across a range of industries and fields.  Greg is also a Director of several indigenous businesses, including Big Sky Training, an aspiring RTO in the Kimberley, and Kimberley Safety and Risk.

Joseph Hoe - Treasurer

Joseph Hoe has been in the Financial Services Industry since 1998 and is currently a senior financial planner with Wealthwise Pty Ltd, based in Perth, specialising in superannuation (including Self managed superannuation funds), investment & retirement planning.  Joseph holds a Bachelor of Commerce degree from UWA & a Master of Taxation from Curtin University. He is a Senior Fellow member of the Financial Services Institute of Australasia (FINSIA), CPA (Australia) and Australia Institute of Management.  He is also a SMSF Specialist from the SMSF Association and is a Certified Financial Planner. Money Management has named Joseph the national Financial Planner of the Year 2016 which recognises excellence in the Financial Planning profession and in our communities.

A Justice of the Peace in WA, Joseph provides consultation and aid to a variety of charities and non-profit organisations & has a wide portfolio of voluntary activities.

Anjie Brook

Anjie has many years of experience in education, striving to improve the outcomes and learning experiences for students who struggle in the mainstream setting.  As well as being a highly accomplished researcher and developer of professional learning programs for WA school leaders and lead teachers, Anjie was the Principal Policy Adviser for the Minister for Education, Hon Peter Collier MLC and is a Fellow of Leadership Western Australia.  In 2018, Anjie took up the role as the inaugural CEO of the Western Australian Aboriginal Leadership Institute. In July 2021, Anjie was appointed as the WA General Manager – The Smith Family.

Chris Kent

Chris began working at Hays in 2002 and over the past 18 years has held a variety of consulting and management roles across the business in Victoria, South Australia and Western Australia. In 2013, Chris was appointed as State Director for Western Australia and the Australian Director for Hays Resources & Mining. He is passionate about working with and supporting small business and is currently leading a team nationally which focuses on the SME market in Australia and New Zealand. Chris also sits on the Leadership WA Board.

Chaise McHenry

Chaise has a strong background in marketing and event management as well as being Company Secretary of McHenry Holdings Pty Ltd. With a passion for youth, Chaise previously volunteered at Lady Lawley Cottage which provides short term respite for children with physical and intellectual disabilities. Chaise was recognised at the 2018 Award Ceremony with a 5 year Certificate of Service to the Association.

Conor McLaughlin

Conor is a Fogarty Scholar in his final year of undergraduate studies at UWA, majoring in Economics and Management. In 2017 Conor founded Futuristic Skills, a web platform that helps young people learn the most critical skills for the future of work. Since then, he has conducted over 200 interviews with employers and educators and run over 100 workshops for students in Australia and internationally. He has also been a participant and subsequently a leadership coach and presenter at the LEAP Foundation annual leadership development program. This immersive program for high school and college students is held annually at the UCLA campus in Los Angeles, California.

Connor is currently undertaking his Gold Duke of Ed Award.

John McMath

John is an experienced lawyer and non-executive Chairman and Director with over 35 years commercial experience in resources, mining, infrastructure and commercial fisheries.  John regularly facilitates workshops for the Australian Institute of Company Directors on Board Effectiveness, Corporate Governance and Strategy and Risk.  Currently John is the Chair of the Western Australian Youth Orchestra and a permanent member of the WA Department of Health Human Research Ethics Committee.

Liam Staltari

Liam graduated from UWA with First Class Honours in Political Science & International Relations under the University’s research intensive Bachelor of Philosophy (Hons.) Scheme and is currently a Change Analyst at the Perth Mint.

With a professional background in providing policy and political advice in the Federal Government, Liam previously served as the State Youth Representative of the St Vincent de Paul Society of WA Inc. and is a current member of the Board of the Rotary Club of Kalamunda and the Committee of the Mazenod College Old Boys’ Association.

Life Members

Brother Thomas Oliver (Olly) Pickett AM

Brother Olly was awarded Life Membership with the Association in 2017 to recognise his long and positive involvement with the Award in WA, holding the Board positions of Vice Chair and Chair up until 2009.  He was instrumental in introducing the Award into many schools in WA and remains as a strong advocate and supporter of the Award.  Read about Brother Olly Pickett’s work with Wheelchair for Kids here.

Mike Wood

Mike was awarded Life Membership with the Association in 2011 to recognise his support in providing valuable office space to the Award in the Perth CBC.  Mike is the Managing Director of Peregrine Travel Centre  Read more about his adventures here.


Terrence U. Cheong - Strategic Integrative Accountants

Terrence has public practice experience both in Australia and Singapore. His experience is diverse and includes auditing, business advisory, superannuation and taxation. He has been a practitioner since 2005 and is currently the Managing Director of Strategic Integrative Accountants. Terrence is a registered company auditor, registered tax agent and registered SMSF auditor.