The Board is the governing body of Awards WA Inc. (the Association) comprising of the Chair and Members and is responsible for the transparent, accountable governance of the Association and for policy making and setting strategic direction.



The Honourable Kim Beazley AC, Governor of Western Australia

The Honourable Kim Beazley AC is the 33rd Governor of Western Australia.  Prior to be installed as Governor on the 1st May 2018, Mr Beazley had dedicated almost three decades to a career in Federal Parliament, representing the WA seats of Brand and Swan.

In 2009, Mr Beazley was awarded the Companion of the Order of Australia for service to the Parliament of Australia through contributions to the development of government policies in relation to defence and international relations, and as an advocate for Indigenous people, and to the community.

Life Members

Brother Thomas Oliver (Olly) Pickett AM

Brother Olly was awarded Life Membership with the Association in 2017 to recognise his long and positive involvement with the Award in WA, holding the Board positions of Vice Chair and Chair up until 2009.  He was instrumental in introducing the Award into many schools in WA and remains as a strong advocate and supporter of the Award.  Read about Brother Olly Pickett’s work with Wheelchair for Kids here.

Mike Wood

Mike was awarded Life Membership with the Association in 2011 to recognise his support in providing valuable office space to the Award in the Perth CBC.  Mike is the Managing Director of Peregrine Travel Centre  Read more about his adventures here.

Board Member Profiles

Hon Joe Francis


Joe joined the Royal Australian Navy as a Marine Technical Sailor, subsequently becoming commissioned as an Officer and served full time in submarines until 2008 when he was elected to the seat of Jandakot.  Holding the seat until 2017, Joe became a Cabinet Minister with portfolios of Emergency Services, Corrective Services, Small Business, Veterans and Fisheries.  Currently is General Manager, Australian Transit Group, Joe brings a wealth of knowledge to his role as Chair.

Greg Stagbouer

Vice Chair

Greg is an accomplished manager with 25 years’ experience in various roles, with the last 15 dedicated to safety and training. In October 2012 Greg started Meridio Solutions to assist organisations develop real safety practices across a range of industries and fields.  Within the Australian Air Force Cadets as a Wing Commander (AAFC), Greg leads the National Safety program/team. As well as the Association, Greg is involved with several other Boards and Executive Committees.

Joseph Hoe


Joseph Hoe has been in the Financial Services Industry since 1998 and is currently a senior financial planner with Wealthwise Pty Ltd, based in Perth, specialising in superannuation (including Self managed superannuation funds), investment & retirement planning.  Joseph holds a Bachelor of Commerce degree from UWA & a Master of Taxation from Curtin University. He is a Senior Fellow member of the Financial Services Institute of Australasia (FINSIA), CPA (Australia) and Australia Institute of Management.  He is also a SMSF Specialist from the SMSF Association and is a Certified Financial Planner. Money Management has named Joseph the national Financial Planner of the Year 2016 which recognises excellence in the Financial Planning profession and in our communities.

A Justice of the Peace in WA, Joseph provides consultation and aid to a variety of charities and non-profit organisations & has a wide portfolio of voluntary activities. Joseph is also one of the Trustees for Future2 Foundation, the charity Foundation of the Australian Financial Planning Association.

Anjie Brook

Anjie has many years of experience in education, striving to improve the outcomes and learning experiences for students who struggle in the mainstream setting.  As well as being a highly accomplished researcher and developer of professional learning programs for WA school leaders and lead teachers, Anjie was the Principal Policy Adviser for the Minister for Education, Hon Peter Collier MLC and is a Fellow of Leadership Western Australia.  In 2018, Anjie took up the role as the inaugural CEO of the Western Australian Aboriginal Leadership Institute.

Cam Gillard

Cam is currently the Defence Sector Leader (West) with Calibre – a diversified professional services, construction and maintenance specialist.  Graduating from the Royal Military College, attaining the rank of Major and becoming a Helicopter Pilot (1985-2007), Cam gained a Masters of Technology Management and BA Economics.  After leaving the Army, Cam took on a number of roles with Gindalbie Metals , BHP and Pindan Group before moving to Calibre in January 2017.

Christopher Jackson

Chris completed his Gold Award in 2012 and during this time, he began his role as Award Leader in 2010 for the University of Western Australia Duke of Edinburgh’s Club.  Since then, he has helped university students achieve their own Awards.  The UWA Duke of Ed Club has since expanded to include 5 WA Universities.  Chris represented Australia at the International Gold Event in South Korea at the end of 2014 where he gained invaluable experience towards his understanding of the Award and the international Award community.

Chris Kent

Chris began working at Hays in 2002 and over the past 15 years has held a variety of consulting and management roles across the business in Victoria, South Australia and Western Australia. In 2013, He was appointed as State Director for Western Australia and the Australian Director for Hays Resources & Mining. He is passionate about working with and supporting small business and is currently leading a team nationally which focuses on the SME market in Australia and New Zealand.

Chaise McHenry

Chaise has a strong background in marketing and event management as well as being Company Secretary of McHenry Holdings Pty Ltd and Corporate Assistant at Auzcorp Pty Ltd. With a passion for youth, Chaise volunteers at Lady Lawley Cottage which provides short term respite for children with physical and intellectual disabilities.

Amanda Williamson

Amanda is an executive leader with 23 years’ experience in logistics, operations and emergency services and is an energetic change agent with a proven ability to provide strategic and operational leadership for large teams to deliver mission-focused outcomes in complex, high-threat and time critical environments.

Katie Brown

Chief Executive Officer

Joined the WA Division in July 2011 as the Support and Development Officer, progressing to the Development Manager and appointed as Executive Officer in September 2015 and CEO in February 2018.  Previous to this, (2003 – 2010) held the position of Marketing Manager with Adventure Out Australia, an outdoor adventure and experiential learning company.  Since joining the Association, Katie has developed a high working knowledge of the principles and standards of the Award and personally assisted many Award Participants through their Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award.

Terrence U. Cheong


Terrence has public practice experience both in Australia and Singapore. His experience is diverse and includes auditing, business advisory, superannuation and taxation. He has been a practitioner since 2005 and is currently the Managing Director of Strategic Integrative Accountants. Terrence is a registered company auditor, registered tax agent and registered SMSF auditor.